September’s Style Icon | Diane Keaton

I have a terrible confession to make; I have only recently finally seen Annie Hall.

It is one of those movies that has been referenced so heavily in pop culture that it felt like I had already seen it. Until my sister called me and told me to watch it- that I would fall even more in love with Diane Keaton then I already was from The First Wives Club.

Within those 93 minutes, I was introduced to a bona fide fashion icon and a whole new way of looking at fashion. Modern androgyny typically highlights how masculinity has evolved to become more traditionally feminine. Jeffree Star and Eddie Izzard, men who adopted makeup and Ruby Rose and Héloïse Letissier are women whose style is classically masculine are good examples of this.

Diane Keaton, on the other hand, introduced us to the “Granddad-fashion”. Taking those key masculine accessories: a fitted blazer, a wide-brim, and those ties, her looks were quintessentially her. She reminds us that “fashion” is not about following trends or trying to dramatically push limits, but rather just pay attention to what is available around you. She quite literally wears the suits, the suits do not wear her.

I still can not figure out how Diane Keaton made a public school English teacher look so chic. Since watching Annie Hall, I am desperate for some cinched, high-waisted, over-sized slacks. That floor-length white coat from The First Wives Club? It’s been saved on my eBay searches for the past 5 years. To quote Man Repeller,

“She’s probably one of those people who can say the same thing you “literally just said,” that everyone ignored, and yet everyone internalises her remarks with the reverence of a royal bow”

But you do not need me to tell you.

Look at her!

One thought on “September’s Style Icon | Diane Keaton

Leave a Reply

