Body Shop ‘Hemp’ Hand Protector Review!

 

As someone with pretty severe eczema, I have heard ALOT about Hemp products. Hemp is supposed to be one of those miracle ingredients for dry skin; it is moisturising, numbs itching, and helps with things like dandruff and even psoriasis.

When I went into Body Shop last year, in aims of trying to find something other than E45 for my dry skin, I was taken straight to their hemp collection. The shop assistant told me that it really was a miracle cream (despite it’s earthy smell). Unfortunately, as a student I have pretty limited funds, and I have always been a little skeptical of ‘miracle products’. Remember, if something is too good to be true, it probably is! So I said I would think about it, and returned to my trusty rotation of E45, Aveeno, and steroid creams.

 

Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 20.14.17

 

Fast forward a year later, and I had a chance to go to London Fashion Week, which was sponsored by, among others, Body Shop. So when I received my goody bag and saw the Hemp Hand Protector, I was pretty stoked. I get to try this ‘miracle product’, and if it didn’t work, I didn’t have to waste any money!

 

Processed with VSCO

I was a little apprehensive about the ‘earthy smell’ after being warned by the shop assistant, but I actually really quite liked it. The smell somewhat reminded me of your mum or grandma after they’ve been outside gardening: a mixture of lavender and earl grey, with the deep, earthy undertones of being outside. Some may find it a little overpowering as it is so different from the sweetness of other moisturisers, but after a couple of uses,  I found it rather comforting.

 

Need a hug_shrek:donkey

 

The product itself is very thick, and kind of comes out looking similar to toothpaste, and it is very heavy duty. If you do not really suffer from dry skin, but you need a moisture top up for the winter months, I would recommend putting it on before bed, so it has soaked in by the morning. BUT if you, like me, are pretty consistently scaly, or winter really affects your hands, then you will love this product.

 

anigif_mobile_bac86d6f054307c6b1435daec15b757c-0

 

The Hand Protector soaks in quickly with little greasy residue, and really calms down any redness. I have started to use this on other eczema spots (like the crook of your arm, or back of the neck) when I am out and about, and it is like having a drink after losing your voice to thirst.

The only thing I would say is because the hand cream is so heavy duty, if you put it somewhere relatively warm (like the back of your neck if you have long hair), it feels greasy for longer. So maybe pull your hair back whilst you apply the cream, and let it settle before letting your hair back down?

 

3f6ea9675bc1a7a51ae4536810a75ca8.gif

 

The Hand Protector comes in two sizes 30ml, and 100ml, and the larger size is better value for money. It is a little pricey (hence my initial apprehension), but it works so well, that I honestly think it is worth the price. Plus, as it is from Body Shop, it is cruelty free! Basically I love this product. I don’t know if I would call it a ‘miracle product’, but it has made it so it is more comfortable to be in my own skin.


Price: £11 (100ml)

Buy Again: Will 100% buy again

Smell: Unique with deep tones

Rating: 4/5 

hemp-hand-cream.png

 

2 thoughts on “Body Shop ‘Hemp’ Hand Protector Review!

Leave a Reply

