LUSH ‘Buffy’ Review.

Lush’s ‘Buffy’ is a vegan body butter/exfoliator bar which, as someone who suffers from eczema, is a freaking god send.

Don’t get me wrong, it is not a gentle or kind product, despite it’s natural ingrediants. The ground rice and almonds scrubs away all the dead skin with ease, leaving only the healthy, pink skin behind. Before you’ve realised how severe the scrub is however, the lavender oil, cocoa butter and shea butter has already soothed and calm the irritated skin. It is an extremely satisfying experience, especially for those eczema as it removes the dead skin, and any open cuts or abrasions are soothed. Plus I personally love the typical Lush smell.

This product is so good that when I first used it, I ran into my housemates room brandishing my arm and screaming ‘LOOK HOW GOOD MY ARM LOOKS!’.

There are some negatives of course. For one, Lush bars tend to have a high melting point, and as such the bars typically do not last that long. Personally I try and save them for when my eczema is so bad that it becomes painful to take showers etc. in order to make them last.

Another issue is the use of ground almonds. It is not obvious that the product contains nuts, and there may be a concern for those who have extremely sensitive skin, as they may be more sensitive to allergens.

Lastly, although people have complained about the price of the bar, I personally think it is worth it at £11.95 for 200g. I have repeatedly bought the product, and I love how my silky smooth my skin feels after a shower. It is incredibly hydrating, to the point that you might not need to moisturise afterwards (although if you have eczema, I would not recommend skipping the additional moisturiser).


 

Ingredients:  

Fair Trade Cocoa Butter (Theobroma cacao),
Shea Butter (Butyrospermum parkii),
Ground Rice (Oryza sativa),
Ground Almonds (Prunus dulcis),
Ground Aduki Beans (Phaseolus),
Perfume,
Lavender Oil (Lavandula hybrida),
Lemon Oil (Citrus limonum),
Citral,
Limonene,
Linalool,


Price: 

£11.95 for 200g

Available: 

At every available LUSH (UK), as well as online.

Review rating:

I will continue buying this product until LUSH no longer exists – A.

2 thoughts on “LUSH ‘Buffy’ Review.

    1. Haha! Lush is amazing! You should try the bar next time your eczema flairs up again- it will get rid of the itch whilst moisturising and stimulating blood to the newer skin cells. That way you can still have a cheeky glass / bottle of wine! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

