I made Tuna Pasta Bake!!

I love Tuna Pasta Bake (TPB), but the last time I tried to make TPB, it was crunchy, mild and overall boring. It was so disappointing because I  my mum had bought all these really expensive ingredients that the recipe asked for (how annoying is that?!), and it really wasn’t worth the money. So earlier, when I’m still in my pyjama’s at 3pm rooting through my university cupboards for something to eat, and my mind drifted to the amazingly homeliness of proper TPB, I was a little uncertain whether I should bother. I couldn’t afford those kind of ingredients, and even the suggestion of getting out of my pi’s right now to go to the shop is mildly insulting. So, I just used the stuff that I had, held my breathe and waited for the disaster to erupt.

    It was really good.

   I know, I’m shocked to. Just because you are at university doesn’t mean you have to live off toast and pot noodles, nor do you have to buy the Nigella Lawson cook book and spend your entire weekly budget on the ingredients for one Mocha Cake.

Warning, this is really tasty and really filling. So maybe after you’ve enjoyed your amazing lunch/dinner, just give yourself an extra 20 minutes so you can have a mini nap straight after.

Ingredients:

  • Pasta (enough for how many people you are serving, approx. 3/4 a mug for 1 person);
  • As much tuna and sweetcorn as you want- I usually can a tin of tuna per dish, and one small can of sweetcorn, but that’s just me.
  • Throw in anything else you want- I throw in some spinach leaves, but you can have anything you want really.
  • Around 50g of butter (but I didn’t bother measuring, so just edit as you go),
  • Around 50g of plain flour (again, I guessed),
  • Around 60ml of milk (or just over half a litre carton, who needs the washing up of measuring?).
  • As much grated cheese as you fancy, I used a little under a quarter of a clock of mature cheddar.

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200 celsius.
  2. Boil the pasta as per norm, until it’s slightly under where you would usually stop.
  3. Meanwhile, melt the butter is a pan.
  4. When the butter is melted, gradually add the flour, whilst stirring.
  5. Gradually add the milk and keep stirring until the mixture thickens. (if it doesn’t look right, add a little more butter/flour/whatever. This guessing thing makes it whole process interesting).
  6. Before the mixture starts to bubble, take it off the heat and add most of the cheese. If your pasta is ready in the meantime, drain the water as usual.
  7. Add the tuna, sweetcorn and whatever else you have to the pasta and stir it in, then pour in the cheesy sauce.
  8. Season appropriately.
  9. Pour the pasta mixture into a casserole dish, or any kind of oven dish you have available, then sprinkle the reminder of the cheese on top.
  10. Stick in the oven for around 10-15 minutes, or until the cheese is golden brown. I enjoy mine ever so slightly underdone, so the cheese is more melty than stringy or crunchy, but that’s just me.
  11. ENJOY!

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 16.15.41.png

Leave a Reply

