Learning how to write…

Most bloggers are either enthusiastic writers, contented readers, or avid readers trying to turn to writing. I am definitely the latter. I spend the majority of my time reading, whether it’s the latest best-selling novel, fan fiction, short stories or even psychological articles or journalistic view points. I love being transported to different worlds and hearing other peoples opinions and their evidence to support them. But, no matter how hard I try, I simply can’t seem to write an original story.

Don’t get me wrong, I can write stories. But they all seem to follow a very similar plot as Lord of the Rings and I just don’t think that can count as ‘original’.

So my plan is to, whilst continuing to try and write blogs about general ponderings and life events, I’m additionally going to try and upload some short stories as well. I’m not going to lie to you, they will probably suck. Seriously suck. But I’m hoping that the internet will be able to tell me:

A) How much they suck, and;

B) What I can do to improve them.

So please, if you have any tips or general feedback, I’d really appreciate it. Also, if you have any helpful information about how to get started or anything like that, that would really help.

Wish me luck!

I’m going to need it…

8 thoughts on “Learning how to write…

  1. There are a few bloggers that host flash fiction fridays, or will review your word and show it on their blogs. These are great places to test your work and extend your readers. I havent done it yet, and couldn’t tell you who they are at the mo, but will try and keep an eye out ( no guarantee, frazzled mother and student studying writing). Good luck, and dont be offput by negative feedback, EVER. Passion is the start of all good things.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much!
      I’m actually a little nervous about posting stories on to the internet for exactly that reason. At least they’ll be honest!
      I will definitely have a look around and let you know if I find any as well. Good luck being a mum, blogger and student! You are braver then I am 😀 .x.

      Like

      1. Thankyou, I don’t know about braver. The bravest thing I probably have had to learn to do is say what I really mean. Next it will be publishing it if the opportunity ever arises! Don’t be nervous, your writing flows. The biggest thing I battle with is confidence, and I imagine most of us are the same. You are in the company of like-minded souls in the blogging community!

        Like

Leave a Reply

